How to Learn a Language

I received some marketing email relating to a Java programming course from JavaCodeGeeks.com. The email contained this (probably made up) horror story.

so I’ve been learning java for over 3 years. and I’ve given up due to feelings over sadness because of the sheer size of the language as well as every time I learn, I always feel like the resource I’m using isn’t the best and I end up switching (this has been going on for a long time). That has led me to not gaining any actual knowledge in Java, all I know is basic syntax and a little about classes and methods. I am currently using Head First Java and John Purcell’s Cave of Programming courses to learn while also building my own projects, but even now I feel like I’m not using the best resource available and I just want to give up. I am so confused and I feel like I won’t ever get this language down to a solid level of understanding. I’m very lost.

The conclusion, unsurprisingly, was that the course on offer would help you get beyond this sort of issue. However, the answer is a lot simpler than “go on yet another course”. The biggest clue for this person’s problem is in this part of the quote:

I end up switching (this has been going on for a long time). That has led me to not gaining any actual knowledge in Java

If you are going to make any progress in any technology you need to do one thing. So this is my…

One sure-fire trick to get you to understand any programming language

Build something non-trivial using one language with one set of frameworks/libraries. Start with a pre-cooked example, turn that into your full blown application and finish the thing.

You’ll have to pick up the skills you need to do this along the way, and having set a technology choice in stone, you’ll build a body of knowledge, rather than thrash within a swirling void of possibilities.

It’s that easy.

It’s also that hard.

Software developer, stand-up comedian, musician, writer, jolly big cheer-monkey, skeptical thinker, Doctor Who fan, lover of fine sounds.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

